Press Releases

Twenty Six Genesis HealthCare Centers Receive Prestigious Award for Significant Commitment in the Delivery of Quality Care

Kennett Square, PA -- 07/07/2010 --

Genesis HealthCare, one of the nation’s largest skilled nursing companies, today announced that 24 of its Centers have been recognized as 2010 recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality National Quality Award and two of its Centers have been recognized as recipients of the Silver – Commitment to Quality Award. Both awards are presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). Awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 61st Annual Convention and Exposition, October 10-13, 2010 in Long Beach, CA .

“We at Genesis HealthCare take quality very seriously,” notes Chief Executive Officer George V. Hager, Jr.  “We set very high standards for all of our centers and clearly, these locations have demonstrated extraordinary performance excellence and an exceptional standard of care to our patients and residents.”

Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award
This year, 701 nursing and assisted living centers from across the nation applied for the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award. Genesis HealthCare received 24 of the 465 awards distributed in 2010.

Genesis Centers receiving the Bronze honor include:
§       Berkshire Center , Reading, PA
§      Brightwood Center , Lutherville, MD
§      Cedar Ridge Center , Skowhegan, ME
§      Greenville Center , Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation, Greenville, RI , Managed by Genesis HealthCare
§      Kimberly Hall South, Windsor, CT
§      Laconia Center , Laconia, NH
§      Madison Center , Matawan, NJ
§      Marshwood Center , Lewiston, ME
§      Miletree Center , Spencer, WV
§      Orono Commons , Orono, ME
§      Pocahontas Center , Marlinton, WV
§      Regency Place, Scott Depot, WV
§      Sanatoga Center , Pottstown, PA
§      Schuylkill Center , Pottsville, PA
§      Shenandoah Center , Charles Town, WV
§      Silver Stream Center , Springhouse, PA
§      Sistersville Center , Sistersville, WV
§      Springbrook Center , Westbrook, ME
§      The Woodlands, Plainfield, NJ , Managed by Genesis HealthCare
§       Victoria Commons , North Cape May, NJ, Managed by Genesis HealthCare
§      Voorhees Center , Voorhees, NJ
§      Warren Center , Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation, Warren, RI , Managed by Genesis HealthCare §      Windward Gardens , Camden, ME
§      Woodmont Center , Fredericksburg, VA

“We congratulate Genesis HealthCare’s 24 Centers for having passed this first step that demonstrates their intention to develop systematic, sustainable, person-centered care and services. We look forward to their moving forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver - Achievement in Quality award,” stated Bruce Yarwood, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL.

Silver – Commitment to Quality Award:
This year, 271 nursing and assisted living centers from across the nation applied for the Silver – Commitment to Quality Award. Genesis HealthCare received two of the 39 awards distributed in 2010.

Genesis Centers receiving the Silver honor are Mountain View Center , Rutland, VT and Severna Park, Severna Park, MD.

“We applaud the staff and leadership of Genesis HealthCare for demonstrating national distinction in their quest for performance excellence,” stated Bruce Yarwood, President and CEO of AHCA/NCAL. “Being judged to be worthy of a Silver Quality Award demonstrates a commitment to a rigorous journey of continuous improvement and a good level of sustainable performance."

Recipients of the Silver Quality Award, formerly known as the Step II Award, must demonstrate very good performance outcomes that have evolved from sustainable approaches to the core values and concepts of visionary leadership, focus on the future, resident-focused excellence, management by innovation, and focus on results and creating value. The award is judged by a Board of highly trained Examiners who come from within and outside of the long term care profession.




Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is based on the core values and criteria of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Program. It provides a pathway for providers of long term and post-acute care services to journey towards performance excellence. Facilities begin their quality journey at the Bronze level where they are asked to develop an organizational profile including vision and mission statements, an awareness of their environment and customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants are also asked to demonstrate their ability to improve a process. At the Bronze level, formerly known as the Step I Award, applications are reviewed by Examiners who have received special training to qualify as judges for the award program. _____________________________________________________________________________

Genesis HealthCare Corporation is dedicated to improving the lives we touch through the delivery of high-quality healthcare and everyday compassion.

 About Genesis HealthCare Corporation
Genesis HealthCare Corporation is one of the nation ' s largest long term care providers with over 200 skilled nursing centers and assisted living residences in 13 eastern states. Genesis also supplies contract rehabilitation therapy to over 900 healthcare providers in 23 states and the District of Columbia .